Bronagh Kirk logo
Home > News > MC Convey Wins North Down GP

MC Convey Wins North Down GP

23 Aug 2015
MC Convey Wins North Down GP

Connor McConvey (Team 3M) won the North Down Grand Prix today in Donaghadee and Bryan McCrystal (Team Asea) held his lead in the Cycling Ireland National road series despite finishing outside the top ten placing.

McConvey was the strongest of a ten man group on the last lap of the Donaghadee-Orlock Circuit. The Belfast professional jumped clear of the lead group and soloed to victory by a 53 seconds margin. Eoin Morton (UCD) was second with Dave Watson of the promoting North Down Cycling Club third. Newtownards man Adam Armstrong (Northern CC Dave Kane Cycles) showed a return to top form to finish fourth. Lurgan teenager Declan Mulholland (Powerhouse) and David Hamilton (North Down CC) were fifth and sixth.

The 90 miles race was a true test of speed and endurance and the finishers were separated by big time gaps. Dubliner Eoin Morton (UCD) won the King of the Hills competition which was held on the Springwell Road Hill.

The A4 race was won by Stamullen rider Glenn White with Andrew Ferguson (Castlereagh CC) leading the bunch in for second from Ryan Wallace (Ballymoney).

Aideen Keenan (DID Dunboyne) won the women’s race from Grace Young (De Ronde Van Cork) and Maura Chafferty (UCD). Keenan wins the Joe Daly Womens League.

Paul Kirk (North Down CC) took his third win of the season in the Masters event which was held in the morning.

The under 12 race was won by Errigal CC lad Adhran Dougan with Shay O’Kane (Phoenix CC) and Rachel white (North Down CC) second and third. Keiran Cahoon (Clann Eirean) was best Under 14 while Katie Armstrong (North Down CC) was first Under 14 girl.

Xeno Young (Powerhouse) beat PJ Dougan (Errigle CC) for the Under 16 win. The North Down Cycling Club staged a superb day of racing for all categories with the final round of the National men’s and women’s league drawing competitors from all over Ireland. The new format for the National Series was devised by Newtownards man Anthony Mitchell and it has proven to be a great success with the top riders competing for honours later in the season.

Under 12s

1 Adhran dougan – Eirigal CC

2 Shay O’Kane – Phoenix CC

3 Rachael White – North Down CC

1st unplaced girl – Maria McAllister – Island Wheelers


Under 14s

1 Kieran Cahoon – Clann Eirean

2 James Glasgow – East Tyrone

3 Rob Lawrence – Bann Valley

1st Unplaced Girl – Katie Armstrong – North Down CC


Under 16

1 Xeno Young – Powerhouse

2 PJ Dougan – Errigal CC

3 Niall Lawrence – Bann Valley


Over 50s

1 Paul Kirk – North Down CC

2 Neil McCartan – Powerhouse

3 Gerard Maguire – Phoenix CC

4 Brian Docherty – Bann Wheelers

5 Michael Crowe – North Down CC

6 Ian Blayney – North Down CC



1 Aideen Keenan – DID

2 Grace Young – De Ronde Van Cork

3 Maura Clafferty – UCD

4 Clare McIlwaine – Phoenix CC

5 Nomh stevens – UCD

6 Karen Deenihan De Ronde  Van Cork

7 Catherine Sands – Newry Wheelers

8 Jennifer Fortune – De Ronde Van Cork

9 Ann Horan – Orwell Wheelers

10 Alwynne Shannon – Newry Wheelers

11 Monica Marconi - Orwell


A1,2&3 Race

1 Conor McConvey – 3M

2 Eoin Morton – UCD

3 Dave Watson – North Down CC

4 Adam Armstrong – Northern CC Dave Kane Cycles

5 Declan Mulholland – Powerhouse

6 David Hamilton – North Down CC

7 Javan Nulty – DID

8 Ian Richardson UCD

9 Sean McIntyre – Caldwell CC

10 Damien Shaw – Team Asea

1st Unplaced Junior – Jake Grey – Nicholas Roche Performance Team

2nd Unplaced Junior – Matthew Armstrong – Dromara CC


King of the Hills Primes

1 Eoin Morton – UCD

2 Adam Armstrong – Northern CC Dave Kane Cycles

3=Ian Richardson – UCD

3= DaveWatson – North Down CC


A4 Race

1 Glenn White – Stamullen Martin Donnelly

2 Andrew Ferguson – Castlereagh

3 Ryan Wallace – Ballymoney CC

4 Rob Carr – Kings Moss CC

5 Michael Boyd – Unattached

6 Patrick Mulroe – Emyvale

7 Neill McAllister – Banbridge CC

8 Mark Kendall – Banbridge CC

9 Colm McKenna – VC Glendale

10 Fergus Byrne – Bann Valley

All photos taken by me that appear on this site or social media will contain a watermark for child-protection reasons. The watermark makes it more difficult to download and maliciously doctor the photos, and enables the original photograph to be more easily traced.