Bronagh Kirk logo
Home > News > John Beggs Memorial

John Beggs Memorial

27 Apr 2013
John Beggs Memorial

Banbridge Cycling Club deserve high praise for their excellent promotion of the John Beggs memorial and supporting races today. The organising committee lead by Aaron Wallace had only four days to find an alternative course when they discovered that roadworks on the original course would be unfinished by today.

The course used was based in Kinallen , a few miles from Dromore. Riders and spectators gave the circuit a big 'thumbs up'! It was not just as savage as the other course but testing enough to encourage competitive racing in all categories.

The main race for A1 and A2s was contested by almost 50 riders and Bangor rider Fraser Duncan (Eurocycles) won the impressive John Beggs Memoorial Trophy after 75 miles of intense raceing. Curtis Gilmore (Team Madigan) won the Seamus McGreevy memorial, while Sligo man Brian Morrow won the A4 race.

All photos taken by me that appear on this site or social media will contain a watermark for child-protection reasons. The watermark makes it more difficult to download and maliciously doctor the photos, and enables the original photograph to be more easily traced.